techblogo-logo

Get The Latest Technology Updates

Logitech G915 Wireless Mechanical Gaming Keyboard

Worlds No1:

Logitech is the most popular brand of wireless gaming equipment globally, according to independent aggregated sales data for Wireless Gaming Keyboards, Mice, & PC Headsets from February 2019 to February 2020 in units sold in the United States, China, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Germany, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, Sweden, and Turkey.

Lightspeed:

Gives battle stations a neater appearance. Without confining you to one place, cordless offers professional-level capabilities. 30 hours of usage are provided on a single charge.

Light sync: 

A state-of-the-art RGB lighting system called LIGHTSYNC may be synchronized with any media type. Each key may have a different color, and the Logitech G HUB software can create animations using 16.8 million color combinations.

Switches:

While occupying the substantially less vertical area, low-profile mechanical switches offer all the advantages of conventional automatic control. When utilizing the GL Clicky switch, a distinctive click may be felt and heard. GL Tactile, GL Linear, or GL Clicky flavors are offered.

Beautifully designed:

The aircraft-grade aluminum alloy in the G915's beautiful design enables the gadget to be incredibly lightweight without sacrificing stiffness or durability.

Battery:

On a single battery, you may play for up to 30 hours. A low battery alert will appear at 15% on both the keyboard's battery LED and the Logitech G HUB software. It takes around 3 hours to charge fully.

G-key:

You may designate one of the five G-keys to a group of unique macros and commands in each game or app profile. For easy command and profile maintenance, use the Logitech G HUB.

Five dedicated G-keys are assigned to each game or app profile and may be customized with special macros and instructions. Simple shape and command management require Logitech G HUB.

Connection:

To connect a tonne of devices at once, use Bluetooth or LIGHTSPEED. Easily switch between Bluetooth and LIGHTSPEED's high-performance wireless utilizing a USB receiver.

 

Specification:

Brand ‎Logitech G
Series ‎G915 Wireless Mechanical Gaming Keyboard (Clicky)
Item model number ‎920-009103
Hardware Platform ‎PC
Operating System ‎Microsoft Windows
Item Weight 3.63 pounds
Item Dimensions LxWxH 18.7 x 0.87 inches
Color ‎Black
Batteries 1 CR123A batteries required.
Department ‎Keyboard
Manufacturer ‎Logitech
ASIN B07NY9ZT92
Country of Origin ‎China
Is Discontinued By Manufacturer No
Date First Available ‎August 14, 2019
Pros Cons
  • 30-hour battery.
  • Low-profile keyboard.
  • Serious gamers-only.
  • Great gameplay design.
  • Perform well.
  • No tactile feedback.
  • Insufficient driver support.
  • Pricey.

Although it has a long battery life and is a high-quality wireless keyboard, the Logitech G915 could be out of your pricing range. Because they satisfy our expectations as gamers, the premium and durable materials utilized in its construction were specially chosen. Low-profile mechanical switches on this keyboard enable quick, accurate typing. The controls deliver excellent auditory and tactile feedback. 

You don't need anything else to make your gaming setup stand out from the crowd then this keyboard's programmable RGB lights. This keyboard's design makes it stand out from the competitors. It is classy, reliable, and durable.

You'll like the versatility of this keyboard. The keyboard is an aircraft-grade aluminum alloy, incredibly durable, lightweight, and strong. The premium materials utilized in its construction enhance the keyboard's beautiful appearance. Additionally, you may customize five G-keys to suit your preferences. Using these keys, you may create macros and apply particular actions to each profile or game.

 

Amazon Reviews ()

(Linear) Experienced typer - best typing experience I've ever had

Reviewed in the United States on June 11, 2020

I'm a programmer and type at a rate of 100+ wpm. I've gone through a number of keyboards throughout the years. To name a few:- Razer BlackWidow (MX Browns)- Razer BlackWidow (MX Blues)- Corsair K70, K63 (Cherry MX Reds with postmodded 0.2mm dampeners)- Fnatic miniSTREAK (Cherry MX Silent Reds, also with 0.2mm dampeners)At first I was a bit worried about the lack of a wrist rest, but the low-profile design eliminates the need for one. I prefer this over my K63/K70 (which both have pretty stellar wrist rests, imo). I noticed an immediate reduction in mistypes using this keyboard over my K63. Beyond that, the keys are more satisfying to press. The low profile design combined with the brushed metal body makes for a more appealing aesthetic as well, imo.Likely going to be buying another one for work.

Logitech is high to price this this high. Reviewed and compared.

Reviewed in the United States on August 10, 2020

The media could not be loaded.  This review is for the  Logitech G915 TKL - Clicky .Tl;DR │ Premium price, cheap product. You could be deceived. Buy this if you are a Logitech fan. I can get the same experience, wireless or wired, in a couple of $70 keyboards. This keyboard should be $100 to $120 max (based on competition).CONTENTS: Intro │ What I Like │ What I Don't Like │ Notes │ Package │ Verdict- - -My background: I've used lots of mech keyboard (Roccat, Corsair, Cooler Master, Redragon, Havit, etc.), mostly clicky/tactile (from Cherry, Outemu, Kailh, TTC).Uninitiated people praise the switches. It is not new or unique to this keyboard. For a couple of years now, I’ve been using the SAME Kailh-based low-profile “choc” switches, on $70 keyboards. But then I wanted wireless. I figured I’d pay for the promised premium product, as it could last me years. Instant regret.WHAT I LIKE │ + │+ Dual wireless-mode (Lightspeed & Bluetooth).+ Dual mode (wireless and wired).+ Scroll wheel volume control.+ Dedicated media keys.+ USB port is flush (you can use ANY cable).+ Dual-height feet.WHAT I DON'T LIKE │ × │× Micro-USB in 2020 — cheap! ⁽ⁿ¹⁾× ABS keycap — cheap!! ⁽ⁿ²⁾× Non-illuminated shifted function keycap design. ⁽ⁿ³⁾× Sticker on keycaps. ⁽ⁿ³⁾× Undiscernible keys when not lit. ⁽ⁿ³⁾× Brightest is not bright enough. ⁽ⁿ³⁾× Very noticeable plastic parts.× $200 premium for wireless. ⁽ⁿ⁴⁾× Built-in battery will die. ⁽ⁿ⁵⁾× Macro is not practical. ⁽ⁿ⁶⁾× Made in CHINA. ⁽ⁿ⁷⁾× Everything just feels cheap in person.× Volume wheel has no tactility.× Volume wheel cannot be reassigned.× Top layer keys are MUSHY. Feels like a $12 keyboard.× Turns off even when disabled.× G Hub is not too intuitive.× Keyboard has a bug in which random keys light up incorrectly.× Keycaps are too flat to be ergonomic.⁽ⁿ⁸⁾× Feet doesn't go high enough for more comfortable angles.Logitech is demanding a premium price on a not-so-premium build. Logitech was once a good brand, that went the way of the Apple and Razer when it comes to premium prices, but does not have the materials and parts to back it up. Essentially, your money is going to their marketing department. I do not want to pay for their marketing. I want to pay for MY keyboard.I use my keyboards for everything. Gaming, working (lots of coding), browsing, everything. I am a power user. This keyboard does not deliver based on the price.- - -NOTES⁽ⁿ¹⁾ In 2020, or 2018 even, Micro-USB is cheap, stupid, and unacceptable. It tells a LOT about a company when they choose this old technology over the more modern USB-C. My main issue with Micro USB is its fragility. The port breaks more easily. When it does, your device is BRICK. I've broken a lot of devices this way. (To avoid this problem, I’ve since used magnetic micro-USB cables  like this one .)⁽ⁿ²⁾ Like micro-USB, the use of ABS keycaps says a lot. Why use ABS keycaps on a $200-$300 keyboard? It looks cheap because IT IS CHEAP. Now, I am not asking for metal, but just a couple of extra bucks and they could get PBT. These keycaps will shine (in a bad way) over time, and your keys will fade and scratch off. They will also peel off (more on that below⁽ⁿ³⁾). I have had $35 mechanical keyboards that use double-shot PBT. Think about that.⁽ⁿ³⁾ I understand that the LED's on almost every other mechanical switch is limited to the top portion. What baffles me is Logitech's choice to use traditional keycap design that puts the shifted (secondary) function labels at the bottom, thus ensuring it does not get illuminated fully. It would have been fine partially-lit. However, they literally used a sticker for the labels (you can feel it). Remember, this is a $200-$300 keyboard, in 2020 (not 2010).My other problem with the keycap is that the characters are dark. You cannot see the keys when there is no light. Logitech wants you not to use backlights to save battery, but it is unusable without it. Even when lit, the brightest 100% setting is not bright enough, which makes anything less than 100% almost useless.⁽ⁿ⁴⁾ I say this because I do use these $70 keyboards from Havit:  full size  and  TKL . I've had half a dozen other mechanical keyboards. The most expensive ones are less than $200, which were Corsair’s and Roccat’s creme de la crop keyboards (and this was 2013 when high prices were more acceptable). I replaced them all with these cheap low-profile mech keyboards because these are subjectively better. Yes, these are wired, but the price difference between these and the G915 is a joke — considering these are better in many ways as well (like the keycaps).Even the  Keychron K1  wireless low-profile mech switches (which are the closest competitors of G915) are only $70 as well — and Keychron does not even have the luxury of mass-scale production, yet somehow managed to keep the price reasonable.⁽ⁿ⁵⁾ Since the battery is not user-serviceable, it will die, and your keyboard is 100% wired. Why am I paying the $200 premium again? Keychron K1's are wireless, but they are also $70 (when the battery dies, it is cheaper to replace the whole keyboard).⁽ⁿ⁶⁾ To use macros, you have to sacrifice the F keys. I use F keys. Many games use F keys. I wish they dedicated even just one button for G-Shift at least, or be able to remap the FN key. G-Shift must be assigned to the F keys as well.⁽ⁿ⁷⁾ 5-letter words I do not want to see in a keyboard this expensive. They save on labor and parts, so why are the price this high again? (Also, just... Made in China).⁽ⁿ⁸⁾ Could be subjective, but I'll explain. The keycaps are too flat. This makes is less ergonomic than keycaps which have slightly different angles based on their row on the keyboard. This makes it easy to accidentally press a wrong key when not looking.- - -PACKAGE │ ✓ ✗ │✓ Box with plastic wrap.✓ Keyboard wrapped in plastic.✓ Micro-USB 2.0 Cable, braided.✓ Female to Female Micro-USB 2.0 to USB-A✓ USB-A Transceiver dongle.✓ Printed materials.✓ Sticker/decal.✗ NO keycap puller.- - -VERDICT: I DO NOT recommend this product. Better alternatives out there. This is not the only low-profile mechanical keyboard out there.★★☆☆☆ | 2 stars out of 5. It is okay, but it is way overpriced for the issues I have with it. It is not "premium" and not majority aluminum (lots of plastics).Questions? Hit the comments!This review is for the  Logitech G915 TKL - Clicky .

Fantastic quality and features, surprising problems

Reviewed in the United States on September 27, 2019

This review is specifically for the G815 which is a total redesign from the G810. I know the price is a big issue for a lot of people but if you are reading this you have the money and are trying to decide if it's worth it. The KB is the single part of the computer you will touch the most. More than any mouse, touchpad or trackball. So a meaningful change there will have a real impact on your experience with your computer. I found this keyboard fantastic -- but with some troubling issues. Well worth my money but is it worth it to you? Read on.So, things I like:- Super thin but heavy enough not to move around at all. Stable as a rock.- Fast. Like really, noticeably faster. My typing speed instantly increased.- Butter smooth linear keystrokes, no muss, no fuss, no click.- Metal body looks and feels pro, top quality. It should for the price.- A bit of space between the keys means less fat fingering.- Really, super programmable per key. For example I have just the logo to do a lighting effect while the other keys are static.- The G HUB program that sets up the lights and macros was intuitive enough I figured out how to use it just tinkering with it. I was able to do a lot of interesting configuration on my KB.- I set up my keys with colors to denote function. So most keys are white but my F keys are yellow, my G keys are orange, my Windows and audio keys are blue, my caps, num, scrlk, pause, prtsc keys are green, etc. Makes for at a glance and peripheral identification and less hitting the wrong key.- A small lighted bar on the spacebar. Nice touch.- Stout cord and rubber protector. Braided cover. Built to last. Handsome IMO. YMMV- Audio controls are simple and responsive.- Separate programmable/macro keys (G keys). Sure, they could have built another function into the F keys but having them separate means one touch activation. When gaming simple is best. The biggest argument I see against separate G keys is a larger KB footprint. But not here. My old Azio KB without those measures about 18¼" (46cm) across while this one is about 18½" (47cm) so ¼" (1cm) difference. My standard HP keyboard for work is 18" (just under 46cm) across so the difference even there is minimal. Unless you are upgrading from a KB with no number pad this just isn't an issue. They accomplish this by having a much narrower bezel between the edge of the keys and the edge of the KB. Clever design.- I thought I would miss the built in wrist rest but I don't. With this much thinner KB it just isn't needed. And that change means a smaller footprint front to back. Under 6" (14cm).Things I found odd:- Needs TWO USB plugs. One with a KB symbol, the other with a USB symbol. Why 2? Power requirements? Not a big deal but it's weird. [EDIT: The extra plug is to make the USB port on the top of the KB is a passthrough. But it's USB 2.0 and a KB is not a lot of traffic so why they thought a passthrough was needed I don't know. Still weird.]- The USB passthrough is next to the cord on the top edge of the KB, not on the side as expected.- No scroll lock light. It has a scrlk KEY but no indicator light. Not that most of us use that but if you ever turned it on by accident you would have a heck of a time figuring it out.- There is no audio passthrough. I don't care but you might.- The keys use the new style of being raised up off the keyboard so there is empty space under them. It looks kinda cool but I worry I will catch the corner of an edge key and pop it off. IDK if that would break it or just pop off the top. I would rather not find out.Stuff I don't like:- The symbols !@#$%^&*()_+ etc are just printed on the keys; they do NOT illuminate. So on the 1 key only the 1 lights up, NOT the ! And they are printed in a medium gray, not white, so they really don't stand out. In low light --- like for gaming -- they are completely invisible. This is the only thing I truly HATE about this keyboard. I'm sure someone will point out that I should be able to type without looking but then why illuminate the keys at all? And esp with symbols their placement changes from KB to KB. Any way you look at it, this is a big FAIL.- The letters and numbers on the keys are small. They could have easily been 25% larger without looking oversized and still with plenty of room for the symbols And they should have. They are very clear so even my old eyes can make them out but bigger would have been better.- I have yet to figure out how to use the 3 memory keys. I've tried a number of things and nothing has worked yet. The manual, being for the G810 which did not have those keys, is no help. I have found no YouTube vids on how to do it. I'll figure it out but this is a problem.- Speaking of the manual, the closest I could find was the G810 manual and this is a complete redesign so not much help there.- The web site was weird and buggy and had no idea what a G815 is. It said something about being in transition so maybe that's it. But wow, just wow.- The caps lock and num lock lights are white, rather bright, and not adjustable. I will have to put a tinted plastic cover over them. Also, reading the printed text next to them to see which is caps and which is num is impossible. Litreally black on black. I can figure it out but that's obnoxious. Maybe I'll paint over that in white.- The brightest level is just about right for me, but I like lower light. It has dimmer levels but nothing brighter. Not sure why they went with such subdued light, especially since this is a USB plug in, not wireless, so no battery issues. If I had a fancy PC build on display with this KB doing a light show I would want it much brighter.The problems are mostly things that should have been caught by releasing a few prototypes to a handful of gamers. Overall it's a fantastic keyboard with some surprising issues for a premium priced KB. I don't regret the purchase but normally with this many issues I might give it just 3 stars. Still, it's already by far my all time favorite KB so I'll go with 4.And hey, Logitech, if you're reading this, if you need someone to tell you this stuff in the future I would be happy to do so. Because whoever is doing it now is not catching these things.

Costs too much

Reviewed in the United States on August 17, 2019

nobody wants to pay $250

Could've been perfect - put off by lack of lit secondary legends, use of micro-USB, and ABS keycaps

Reviewed in the United States on June 4, 2020

[Updated after Logitech fixed their software. Also added comments on clicky vs tactile and will include my review on both]Went into this with a bit of trepidation because of the low-profile switches. However, actually found it quite nice to type on. Also purchased a Drop CTRL at the same time with Halo Trues, and while the feel is obviously totally different, I somewhat prefer the feel of the Logitech key profile and shorter travel. To be fair, my last mechanical keyboard was a stash of IBM Model M's that I got rid of almost a decade ago, and most of what I've typed on since has been low-profile so I am more used to that now. Since the key-spacing is still standard, the G915 shouldn't require a ton of adjustment for people used to full size keyboards.That said, this keyboard has some flaws, with the first one being the most significant to me - the secondary legends are not lit. All the special character keys (like & and *) are simply printed on the keys and do not light. Since the printing is not high contrast to begin with, this makes them exceptionally difficult to see in the dark. I have no problem touch typing with the alpha keys, but will glance for the less frequently used special characters, and the lack of lighting is really annoying. It's also a little confusing for keys where the secondary character is used more commonly than the primary (ex: double quotes, question mark, etc...).For reference, the lighter of the photos was taken with typical indoor lighting and while you can see the legends they don't exactly stand out. Under dim lighting, much less with the lights out, they're effectively invisible. This is an especially glaring flaw given plenty of other keyboard manufacturers have figured out a simple solution to this - simply print the secondary legend alongside the primary instead of below it, and let them both light up.Second, this is 2020. Why in the world did Logitech choose to go with micro-USB instead of USB-C? Most other new model high end keyboards now have started adopting USB-C. This was a common complaint on the original G915 as well (along with the lack of lit secondary legends), and it's clear Logitech hasn't learned anything from all of the prior feedback.Third, while the battery life from the lithium battery is great, if I'm spending $220 on a keyboard, I don't want to replace it in a few years if the battery starts losing its capacity. How many of you have had cell phones or laptops that just don't hold a charge as long as they used to? If you usually use this in wired mode that may be unlikely (since you're not constantly discharging the battery fully), but it would be better if the battery was replaceable. And, while I might be in the minority for saying so, I'd almost rather it use rechargeable NiMH AA's (just throw a couple of Eneloops in it) than a non-replaceable lithium battery.Finally, I really wish Logitech had went with higher end keycaps. On a $220 keyboard it isn't outrageous to hope for PBT double-shot keycaps. While ABS keycaps aren't uncommon, at this price point a lot of wired keyboards are now including PBT double-shot keycaps, which feel more solid, won't show oil shine, and won't have legends wearing out. This and the lack of shine-through secondary legends would be less of an issue if you could replace the keycaps, but it's virtually impossible to find third party keycaps in this profile (looks similar to Kailh Choc switches but I don't have a Kailh Choc board to try swapping with). To be fair there's not a large number of mechanical wireless keyboards to begin with, and most of those are also still using ABS keycaps, so you may be stuck with this regardless (when the Keychron K8 eventually comes out, its keycaps will be ABS but are at least OEM profile and can be swapped out).Originally there were issues with the software, but Logitech fixed those with a software update made available on release day. The new software does recognize the keyboard correctly and let you customize the lighting. You can also adjust things like how long a period of inactivity before the lighting turns off. Note that you also need the software to set a default lighting mode (for example, the board defaults to all keys lit the same color and gently rotates between colors - I prefer the color wave, but the board won't remember that without the software, and after inactivity defaults back to the original setting).As for the pluses... As I noted above, it's quite comfortable (for me at least) to type on. I've apparently come to prefer the light actuation force and short key travel. The Lightspeed wireless is responsive, simply works (just plug in the dongle - no issues with pairing), and doesn't interfere with my Bluetooth headset, which is a big plus. If you can get past the unlit secondary legends, the primary legends are attractive and have a very pleasant glow.Build quality is good and the aluminum top panel is attractive and has a decent heft to it. The bottom is plastic but seems solid and the keyboard doesn't feel like it has any worrisome flex to it. The plastic tip-out feet do feel a bit cheap, though they still hold the keyboard without shaking. At this price point wired keyboards are a lot more robust (the Drop CTRL I also purchased has an aluminum upper and lower, and the feet are also solid aluminum), but that's not really an apples-to-apples comparison.If you're looking at both the clicky and tactile versions of this keyboard, both felt good to me to type on. However, the tactile response on the clicky is sharper and more noticeable. With these low profile switches the tactile version has relatively little feedback when compared to full size tactile switches. I can't compare it to the linear version, but If you're coming from a keyboard with a significant tactile response, the tactile version of this keyboard is definitely going to be more subtle in comparison.The clicky version technically clicks both on the downstroke and on the upstroke. This isn't that noticeable and isn't at all off-putting. The key does actuate before the click, but it is close enough that it is imperceptible and is unlikely to affect normal typing (to confirm it I had to push the key down as slowly as I possibly could). The sound is definitely a "click", or "tick", not a "clack". Subjectively the Kailh click bar based switches are reported to be a bit higher pitched but crisper than ones based on a click jacket design (like Cherry MX Blues). The last clicky keyboard I owned was an IBM Model M, which isn't really a fair comparison, and this definitely doesn't scratch that itch for me. However, as noted above, I found the click gave a slightly better tactile response than the non-clicky tactile version. Alas, while the keyboard is not that loud, it was still a deal breaker for my wife.Unfortunately, the negatives really leave me on the fence with this keyboard. The Drop CTRL I am also considering is better built, has better keycaps, swappable switches, USB-C, and open source firmware. If I go with the G915 it will either be because I can't past having an extra wire on my desk (and right now the G915 is probably the best wireless option with backlit keys unless you want to take a chance on a Hexgears Venture) or because I find myself unable to adapt to full height keys anymore after using laptop keyboards for so long.If I had suggestions for Logitech:* Lit secondary legends* USB-C* PBT keycaps* User replaceable battery

Best Keyboard Evar!

Reviewed in the United States on August 23, 2019

I know everyone is up in arms over the price of this keyboard, but it just so happens to be the best keyboard I've ever experienced! I've owned several mechanical keyboards over the years and I have to say that this is easily the best typing experience I have ever had! I did buy this directly from Logitech instead of on Amazon so I would get it faster. I was a little skeptical about how a low-profile mechanical keyboard would feel but after banging out the first email on this thing, all of my fears went out of the window. I went with the "tactile" model because I wanted the more traditional key press response but without the ridiculous mechanical key press sound. Definitely the best of both worlds here! In addition to all of the expected RGB options, I love that there are dedicated media and shortcut buttons that are fully configurable through the Logitech software. Plus that volume scroll wheel is a life saver! My old keyboard hid the volume toggle within a couple of the function keys which made something as basic as turning down the music when my phone rang a much bigger hassle than it should have been. I really do love this keyboard so if you have the funds, it's a no-brainer! In fact, this keyboard is so much fun to type on that this review was actually 3 times as long as I had originally planned..

Easily the best keyboard I've had to date....

Reviewed in the United States on September 1, 2019

I've jumped between Corsair, Razer, Keystone, Logitech and Hexgears looking for just the right keyboard. Lately, I got into this 'flat key' / low profile craze to help out my wrists since I'm LITERALLY on the keyboard all day in one form or fashion. Thus far, EVERY keyboard I've had ended up having some strange issue...... either not-wireless, or repeating key issues from the wireless.This keyboard literally has NONE of those issues. The keys are responsive, have a nice-but-not-obnoxious click and I'm getting zero repeating key issues across the systems I've used and paired it with using both Lightspeed and Bluetooth. The key LED lighting is vivid but not nearly as distracting as other keyboards, especially in a dark-ish room.It's a little expensive, but the build quality reflects it. I would have loved to have seen this at the $199 mark, but the $249 mark isn't causing any buyers remorse yet.

Overpriced, but not obscenely so considering the quality of the board

Reviewed in the United States on September 8, 2019

Obviously, it's pretty expensive. $250 is a lot to ask for any keyboard. That being said, while I feel like it's slightly overpriced I definitely don't feel like it's a complete ripoff considering what you're getting. I've had it for a week and I'm completely satisfied with it so far. The build quality feels very solid, it looks super sharp on my desk, and the low-profile switches (I got the clicky blues since I use it for both gaming and productivity) are among my favorite of any mechanical keyboard I've ever used. It's loaded with features, the RGB looks vibrant and evenly-lit, and I really appreciate being able to quickly swap between the wireless dongle and standard bluetooth when I want to switch to my work laptop.Shockingly, the Logitech G-Hub software is actually pretty decent, which is not a thing I'm used to for gaming peripheral drivers, even from Logitech. It's not flawless, but it looks nice, it's reasonably fast and responsive, and it generally does what it needs to do without any fuss, which is really all you need out of software like this.If you don't care for the wireless, the G815 is the exact same keyboard but without wireless for $50 less, which is pretty reasonable.UPDATE: It's one and a half years and one WFH pandemic later, I still really, really like this keyboard. I've used the hell out of it and aside from some small nicks on the squared off bottom edge of the aluminum case where I bumped it against random mugs/keys/whatever on my desk, it still looks and works great. All of the lights illuminate as brightly as they did when I first got it and the keycaps have held up well over the last 18 months.For the past month I've been seeing rare double or missed inputs on a few keys (spacebar, P, R usually), but a few days ago I took all of the keycaps off and thoroughly cleaned the entire unit and underneath all of the caps and the issue no longer occurs, so I suspect the issue was a small amount of debris interfering with the rebound on the low profile switches.Post-Covid, I'll probably bring my old keyboard to the office and buy the newer TKL version of this board for home use.

Need a TKL version without the G keys

Reviewed in the United States on September 2, 2019

Too wide. I will buy again if there is a TKL version of this without the extra G keys.

Quality

Reviewed in the United States on September 13, 2019

Is it expensive? Yes, but for some people it's worth it, for others it's not. That's up to you to decide for yourself, but price aside, I'll just tell you about the keyboard.The G915 works really well for me. I got the linear version and the key presses are much quieter than the G513 linear keys, which weren't really loud to begin with. I play a lot of Overwatch, so I hit the keys hard when I play. My gf can tell a difference in the noise when I play.The media controls are a good feature. The volume knob is a smooth scroll. For some reason I assumed it would be clicky/notchy, but it's not. The G513 had to use a Fn button to access the media controls, which was a little annoying. Also you can't customize the colors of the media/memory/other special function keys at the top. Kinda lame.Not a big deal, but I like the light up G in the upper left corner. Matches my mouse and mouse pad.I wasn't specifically looking for a slim mechanical keyboard, but this keyboard had all the features I wanted. It turns out that I do enjoy the feel of typing on it. The key travel doesn't feel too short (like the new MacBook keyboards). I also appreciate how heavy and sturdy the base is. Also, because the base is so thin, I don't feel like I need a wrist rest anymore (the G513 came with a really cushy one, which I loved). Dimitri from Hardware Canucks said you wouldn't need a wrist rest, and I agree. My keyboard sits on my super oversized mouse mat. The mouse mat serves as a soft place for my wrists while I type, in the same way that I lay my wrist on it when I use the mouse.I also do like the G keys on the left side of the keyboard. Now the new G Hub software is buggy, not too intuitive, and lacks some features when compared to the Logitech Gaming Software. But I was able to map one of the G keys to cycle through my different audio outputs. It makes it easy for when I want to switch between my speakers and headset which are always physically connected to my PC. The old way I used to switch audio outputs was by right clicking on the speaker icon in the taskbar. Just another small convenience. The one thing I don't like about the G keys though is my left pinky naturally gravitates towards the G5 key (the lower left most key) when I try to use the Ctrl key. I'm assuming I'll get used to the layout over time, but right now it's a bit hard retraining myself. Btw, on the plus side for the new G Hub software , it does give a bit more control on custom lighting for your logitech devices. It's not great and definitely not as good as Corsair's software and level of customization though.I bought the wireless version. Now I don't plan on using it wirelessly so it's always plugged in, but the reason I wanted it is because there's a button which can quickly switch the keyboard to bluetooth mode. I have it paired with my phone so when I get a text on my phone, I just hit the bluetooth key on the keyboard and quickly type a text message. (Just to be clear, I'm still looking at my phone while I'm typing -- I'm just using the keyboard to type.) Then I quickly switch back to continue using my computer. It's a nice convenience.One thing that I don't like about the keyboard is that the symbols are not backlit on the top row number keys (and other keys). Maybe they do it for aesthetics, but sometimes I miss that feature when I'm typing in a dark room.All in all, I'm pretty happy. It was definitely expensive, but for me, it does a lot of the things I want it to do and that was important to me.Btw, in case you didn't notice, the wired version of this keyboard has a USB passthrough, which the wireless version doesn't have. Just in case you wanted that feature.

Source: Amazon

Question: The first photo shows an iso layout with the "7" shaped return key. That's not the one they ship to us addresses, is it?

Answer: No, I used the typical ANSI format because I'm American.


Question: USB c or micro for the charge port?

Answer: The micro USB charging port, however, has not yet been implemented.


Question: Can you use this keyboard wired, or does it have to be wireless?

Answer: The keyboard can be connected through wired or wireless connections. I have everything set up so I can quickly switch between my streaming PC and gaming PC by pressing a single button.


Latest Products



Amazon Affiliate Disclosure

As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

Some posts may contain affiliate links. https://www.techblogo.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for website owners to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon(.com, .co.uk, .ca etc) and any other website that may be affiliated with Amazon Service LLC Associates Program.