techblogo-logo

Get The Latest Technology Updates

KINESIS GAMING Freestyle Edge RGB Split Mechanical Keyboard

Ergonomically Designed Typing and Games:

You need to move the correct module and get your mouse near to boost your endurance and accuracy (eSports proven). Rotate the left module to offer the best critical coverage or fit into a limited space at a LAN. You may also position your streaming microphone, HOTAS, or mouse in the middle and distance the modules by up to 20 inches. Use the tent's raise kit to relieve strain on your wrists and forearms, and spread the modules to shoulder width for a comfortable typing position. The Palm Supports, which are detachable, are made even more convenient by new, thickly padded palm cushions.

Switches:

Switches are purely mechanical devices with high-performance standards. Genuine Cherry MX Brown speed mechanical switches (low-force, tactile feel) offer professional-grade responsiveness and unparalleled longevity (50M clicks).

RGB light:

16.8 million RGB colors may be shown on each key. The backlight may be used with ten distinct lighting effects, including wave mode, spectrum mode, rebound mode, pulse mode, rain mode, and more.

COde generator:

Each of the 95 keys may be programmed separately for optimum versatility: Download the brand-new SmartSet app to manage your lights and other settings, or use the SmartSet key for fast Remaps and macros. Each of the nine available profiles includes features like 1ms reaction time, NKRO, game mode, powerful macros, simple remapping, nine gaming keys, and more. You may save your profile and preferences to the keyboard's internal 4MB memory for tournament play.

Capability:

All popular operating systems, including Chrome OS, offer the full plug-and-play capability. It is not necessary to hire any specialized drivers. Downloads of the RGB SmartSet App 3.0 for Windows and Mac are now available. They are made to last and made entirely in America.

 

Specification:

Product Dimensions 15.5 x 10.3 x 1.3 inches
Item Weight 2.8 pounds
Manufacturer Kinesis Gaming
Item model number KB975-BRN
Pros Cons
  • Fast-paced gameplay.
  • The split design allows comfortable play.
  • Mechanical switches are durable.
  • Programmable 95 keys.
  • It's not practical.
  • More crucial travel.

The precision provided by the keyboard's big, logically spaced keycaps is closely correlated with gaming ability. The key travel is roughly average, although it might be cut down for better gaming performance. You'll discover a set of programmable shortcut keys on the left side of the keyboard. Your customized preferences may also be saved as profiles, which you can access whenever you want by clicking the relevant button.

You may play video games for lengthy periods without feeling uncomfortable, thanks to the wide wrist rest connected to the keyboard. On the other hand, the wrist support is permanent and cannot be removed or modified. You may select from several options and alter the lighting for each key regarding the RGB. Although you can't use a Numpad for standard typing, I missed having access to one. The braided cable is long and feels very solid, so you won't have to worry about it being twisted or tangled. The best feature of this keyboard is that it can be used immediately without any additional software after it has been hooked onto your device.

 

Amazon Reviews ()

One of the best typing keyboards out there for software engineers alike

Reviewed in the United States on March 7, 2020

I will admit my shame, and I own 4 of these keyboards. Two of them are the previous edition, and the others are the RGB model (Cherry MX Brown and Cherry MX Blue). I used to be a software engineer and now working as an engineering manager. I thought I would type a lot back then until I became a manager. When you are a software engineer, you think more and type less, but being a manager is all about typing when you create user stories, documentation, email, answering questions, finding out solutions, etc. Now, I type even more, and I appreciate an ergonomic keyboard like this. I have used many keyboards out there in the market, partly because of my passion for keyboards. As the keyboards are the only physical object you interact with within your daily software development life, it becomes something you enjoy with. I even had my company buy one for me for the office as I was using my Kinesis Edge keyboard there. I explained all this background so that you can see where I am coming from for my review.I don't care much about gaming, and interestingly enough, this keyboard is mostly advertised as a gaming keyboard. It is more than a gaming keyboard. It is a typist, software developers, engineering managers, and all sorts of occupations' keyboard that involves a high amount of typing. I used to have mild anxiety about the mistakes I was doing while typing since it was more than reasonable and was affecting my work. It is frustrating when you cannot translate your thoughts into code while you are in the flow because of the mistakes and backspaces you have to do while doing it. Once I got used to using this keyboard, the number of errors considerably reduced partly because of the clear separation of my left and right hands. They no longer run into each other. It also trains my brain to use both my hands as effectively as possible. Previously, it was my right hand doing all the traveling over the keyboard, whereas my left hand was just scanning a few keys. It is the case anymore. The other significant benefit is the posture it puts you in. You can adjust both parts as comfortably as possible. You can want to tilt your one keyboard as it is more suitable for your posture, go ahead and do it. You just have to experiment with this keyboard to appreciate the benefit of it genuinely. I can explain all the small benefits that add up to major ones, but I believe it is self-evident even by merely looking at the keyboard.Using the RGB keyboard has two significant benefits for me than the old version:1. I could not distinguish the key prints due to blue light due to my eyes condition. It was honestly a horrible choice for the backlight color. The simplest and most effective option would be white color, but I think it is too simple of a color for gamers.2. When you tilt the keyboard, I realized it becomes partially harder to see the letters on the keyboard. What I do is to color the keys that I use quite regularly, such as print screens, etc. with different colors to find them when I need them quickly. This has been working quite well for me. TBH, coloring each key with different colors for quickly seeing them, is the only benefit I appreciate in RGB keyboards. I don't care about the lighting effects, especially in the professional office environment.I used to hear some metallic echo sound in the previous edition of this keyboard, but it seems they have fixed that problem in this newer RGB model, or my ears simply stopped hearing them. Either way, I am okay.The other significant design change with this keyboard is the new palm cushion. I admit that the previous model was horrible, and I stopped using them entirely after the weird feeling and texture it has that I started realizing. I had been waiting for the new palm support since the time I saw it on Twitter and ordered two of them for my older keyboards, and it was a lot better than the previous generation.The major drawback of this keyboard is its price. It is not reasonably priced, I believe, but almost all of the premium keyboards are not reasonably priced these days. The good thing is that though you buy these keyboards once and use them for years without any deterioration in their quality. So, they are mostly long-time investments, but they make it so appealing, you sometimes cannot resist upgrading to their newer versions when they come out.Regardless, this is my review of this keyboard, and I hope it helps.

Improved gaming and reduced strain

Reviewed in the United States on October 4, 2019

I had tendinitis due to being a software engineer and gamer. I bought this keyboard and the Freestyle 2 for mac and both have been amazing with respect to relief from repetitive strain.Having said that, this keyboard, in particular, is amazing. Why is it amazing? I've actually improved in FPS games significantly. Not having to strain makes my reaction times quicker. The keyboard has a premium feel when typing and has great response time. The wrist rests are comfortable and the RGB lighting is really nice to look at. I like that you can rotate the left side of the keyboard a bit when gaming, it makes it easier to reach all the keys you want to use without straining. I recommend buying the elevation stands that are sold separately for even less strain.Pros:Premium feelFast response timesReduces strainGreat ergonomicsCons:High priceSome of the keys are sometimes hard to reach when gamingYou have to buy the elevation stands that are sold separately to really benefit from the intended ergonomics and reduced strain.Update Jan 1, 2020:The S key broke off the keyboard. I don't use this keyboard for anything other than gaming, and I don't game that much for it to explain how it broke. I really liked this keyboard too, so it's a big disappointment. I've reached out to Kinesis support since it's only been 3 months to see if the warranty will cover the fix. Once I have an update on that I'll post it here.

Amazingly Helpful for posture and wrist positioning

Reviewed in the United States on September 11, 2019

As someone who both works in IT and then comes home to spend another 6 hours on a computer this was immensely helpful for my wrists. I was starting to develop pain and tightness in my wrist and forearms due to long hours on standard keyboards and this keyboard has been an absolute God-send.The keyboard is sturdy and the mechanical keys feel great to use. The software is a bit wonky and takes some getting used to mounting a virtual drive in order to change settings on it but offers a good amount of flexibility once you get the hang of it.Being able to position each half in exactly the correct position for my sitting style and natural placement of my hands is a nifty feature. I hadn't seen anything like this before and figured I'd take the chance given my wrists getting worse. Well worth the money.The only real problem area I can think to nitpick on is the wrist wrests are clipped in and are kind of a flimsy connection. I've had them slip off a couple times when I picked it up in the wrong spot but nothing worth losing a star over as picking it up from the main body prevents this.Overall I'll definitely be returning to this brand for my next purchase and will be recommending it to anyone that needs some kind of ergonomic hardware.

The best ergonomic keyboard. Period.

Reviewed in the United States on October 31, 2020

Let's get this straight: Right now, the Kinesis Freestyle Edge is the best relatively-conventional ergonomic keyboard you can buy. No exceptions.Yes, it's expensive, as keyboards go. But it is tentable, adjustable, programmable, comes with your choice of three types of Cherry mechanical keyswitches (not cheap Chinese knock-offs) and actually useful palm rests. It's solidly constructed and has the good key feel you'd naturally expect from Cherry switches. It is customizable in many ways, almost all of which can be done right on the keyboard itself, but if you prefer to do it from a configuration application, Kinesis has you covered there as well. (The Smartset app, available for MacOS or Windows, does everything you can do directly from the keyboard as well as a few things that you can't.)The Edge RGB adds fully addressable RGB backlighting, for the loss only of the Scroll Lock key which honestly NOTHING EVER USES ANY MORE ANYWAY. Like the Caps Lock key, I don't know why it still even exists on modern computer keyboards. It's no longer relevant, and it's no pain whatsoever to lose it.I mentioned MacOS above. Yes, you can use this keyboard with your Mac. To do that, you'll need to do two things:1. You'll need to order and install https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B085PWG291/, a set of four replacement keycaps for MacOS.2. To make the keyboard's actions match the new key caps, you'll have to remap four keys, swapping the left and right Windows keys with the left and right Alt keys. ALT on the PC and ALT/OPTION on the Mac send the same key code, and WIN on the PC sends the same key code as the Mac's COMMAND key, but their positions on the keyboard are swapped. Remap each WIN to ALT and likewise each ALT to WIN, and you're good to go. (This is easier and less confusing to do from the Smartset app.)Every time you run it, the Smartset app will also check to see if your keyboard needs any firmware updates. YES, THIS KEYBOARD GETS FIRMWARE UPDATES. Updating firmware is simplicity itself: Copy the update to the keyboard's firmware folder, unplug the keyboard, plug it back in, and that's it. DONE. Your grandmother could do it, after you show her how the first time.So what makes this better than all of those $20-$60 "ergonomic" keyboards? Well, bluntly, they're all cheap, dumb crap with no adjustment, no programmability, and with cheap, bad membrane switches (and usually with even cheaper screen-printed keycaps). They'll wear out quickly under heavy use, and they'll never approach the key feel or tactile feedback of a proper mechanical key switch. Why is tactile feedback important? Because it prevents you from damaging your hands by hitting the keys harder than you need to.So if you have any semblance at all of RSI issues, and you want to protect your hands and wrists, buy this keyboard. Seriously. I'm not kidding here. Your hands and wrists will thank you forever.UPDATE======Since writing the above I've bought a third of these, for use with a work-issued Mac. If you've ever typed on a recent Mac keyboard, you know why.The first two are original-version Edges, one with Red switches, one with Brown. For the RGB I went back to the Reds because I think I slightly prefer them. All three have silicone damper rings installed.I personally give the RGB color control on the Edge RGB a resounding "meh". I do NOT like the changes to the keycaps; shifted keys are "upside down", which is to say, the shifted character is BELOW the unshifted character, not above it or to its right. This can be confusing. I have never seen any other keyboard do this, EVER, and it is a BAD IDEA. It doesn't even work well with the illumination, as the light is mostly blocked from the shifted character. Kinesis should change it back.Since they are standard Cherry keycaps, you could of course work around this by replacing the keycaps with a more conventional set of backlight-compatible Cherry keycaps. But on a $200 keyboard, you shouldn't HAVE to.

Upside: Cherry MX Makes the Key-switches...everything else is mediocre at best.

Reviewed in the United States on December 3, 2019

Well, the key switches are cherry mx. Fantastic...we all know that. I like the browns but whatever, that's not the point. The point here is that everything else about this keyboard is an under-achievement in engineering. The clunky software that comes on the keyboard is a disaster in the sense that it doesn't work unless you move it from the keyboard USB drive to your apps directory...why? I mean, why bother with the usb-drive at all? If i want the app i'll download it. After all, this is a "gaming" keyboard right? Are there gamers out there without an internet connection?Also, just hit the "status" switch on the top of the keyboard and watch as (if you are in Finder) the keyboard starts RENAMING YOUR DIRECTORIES. Great feature...=> so great I'm looking into how to load malware onto these keyboards for delivery via the status key. Anyway, i could go on....As far as it being somewhat ergonomic, that's the only reason i haven't thrown it out.

You can put your documents between the keyboards!

Reviewed in the United States on December 30, 2019

With the wire and keyboards spread out I can fit 11X17 sheets laid landscaped or two 8.5x11 documents laid portrait between them and my hands fall naturally shoulder’s width apart.This is a huge win for those that need to look at plain paper docs and multiple screens without getting whiplash at the end of the day.Only thing that bugs me is I’m used to hitting the B key with my right hand index finger so at first it was a little awkward as that key is on the left side.Yeah the tilting kit is separate. Buy it, as it’s necessary.I got the brown keys as I was afraid of annoying my coworkers with blues and they work well in that regards.Software works with windows as of this review. The key binds are great for repetitive tasks.Yes, it’s a little expensive but carpel tunnel surgery isn’t cheap either.Hopefully they can come out with a wireless version in the future.

I prefer the Red to the Brown

Reviewed in the United States on July 2, 2021

Glad to see these are now available. For months at the beginning of 2021 they were unavailable.I have two of these; a cherry brown at home (my first one) and a cherry red at work. For an expensive keyboard like this, it's a tough choice choosing the right cherry switches without being able to try them out. Many reviewers and advisors for first time mechanical keyboards advise the cherry brown switches for the subtle tactile feedback and relatively quieter key presses compared to the louder cherry blue switches. After getting the cherry brown keyboard, I liked it so much I wanted one for work. At the beginning of 2021, when there was no supply, Amazon briefly had a used cherry red version. I ordered it. Being used it was missing the palm rests which are normally included with the keyboard and very necessary when using the tent kit. Knowing I was going to return it, I was still able to try it out to asses the cherry red switches before ordering a new one later. For me, I like the cherry reds better and here's why.Cherry browns. Coming from a conventional membrane keyboard, you probably don't realize it but you normally push the keys all the way down until they bottom out. Fortunately you bottom out into a soft squishy rubbery material. When you first get on a mechanical keyboard you'll do the same and bottom out the key presses. This is part of the "clackiness" of a mechanical keyboard. The key is literally physically contacting the board, plastic on plastic with no soft cushion. With the tactile feedback of the cherry brown switch, you can actually stop pressing down when you feel the tactile feedback and before the key bottoms out on the board. It's kind of cool to realize you don't have to press so hard and so far down to actuate the key press and this should allow you type even faster since you can be more efficient. But you have to train yourself not to type so hard. If you are a hard typer and bottom out the keys, you may not even notice the subtle feedback of the cherry browns because the bottom out feel is much stronger.Cherry reds. Nice and smooth. When transitioning from the cherry browns to the cherry reds. The first thing you notice is that it feels easier to press the keys. Second you then realize what the browns are offering with information about key travel. There is certainly no issue typing with the cherry reds and it feels more like a traditional non mechanical keyboard. I appreciate what the cherry browns have taught me that I don't have to push down so hard or far. But the main reason I prefer the reds over the browns is that I feel less tired typing on the reds. They claim it's the same actuation force between the reds and the browns, but to me typing on the reds just feels easier. The tactile bump of the browns is like a small percussive force on your fingers joints that adds up over time and you can feel it. If you're young and virile and want the feedback, hey the browns are great, I still have my brown keyboard and enjoy it. Or go for the blues and strut your stuff and let everyone around you know you are a mechanical keyboard aficionado and they should respect your authority. But I'm glad I made the choice of cherry reds for work where I do most of my typing. I just don't need the extra percussive force on my fingers. I don't think there is any downside to the cherry reds, I can type just fine. The browns and blues just let you know that you have a mechanical keyboard and give you a different feel than what any other cheap or expensive membrane keyboard can provide and you may enjoy that.The keyboard itself is great. One of the main reasons I chose this keyboard is to remove the number pad on the right so my mouse can be closer. I am much more comfortable working with the mouse closer. I do miss the keypad, but the trade off is worth it. I do have the second layer programmed as a number pad, but every number pad is ortho-linear where the keys are directly above each other. Even color coding the keys and extinguishing the light on surrounding keys is still not the same. Most people will choose 7, 8, and 9 to stay the same which makes u, i, o = 4, 5, 6 and j, k, l = 1, 2, 3. But to match a number pad, 0 becomes plus and space or M becomes 0. The fact that the keys below 7,8,9 are diagonal and to the right just isn't quite the same. And the j key has the bump, which is now the number 1 key vs the bump on the number pad is the on the 5 key. At work I have a separate number pad but it's hard to find a convenient place to put it. I've just started using the real number row more and more.The second reason I wanted this keyboard is for the illuminated keys. If the microsoft natural 4000 keyboard had back lit keys, you wouldn't be reading this review and I would have right arm pain with my hand further out to the side. Nothing is better in a low light environment than back lit keys. And I've really enjoyed color coding keys to my liking. You can soften the brightness of the keys by choosing a softer color. I use browns, oranges, and reds so the keyboard is easy to look at in low light.The third reason I wanted a keyboard like this is for on the fly macro programming. Back in the late 90s I had a keyboard that let you program extra keys on the keyboard and it was awesome for short term repetitive tasks. This keyboard shines in this area. You can put a macro on any key or shift layers and put a macro on a key, nice but kinda lame because you need all the keys. This keyboard gives you 8 keys on the left side for easy programming and easy access. You press the macro button at the top above the fn keys, press the key you want to program, type whatever you want including spaces, returns, multi key presses (ctrl-shft-end), etc. then press the macro key again to finish. Then bam you have a repeatable set of key strokes for editing that spreadsheet you're working on. It's great. Don't want to accidentally press that macro key and have that complex macro do all kinds of crazy stuff on another important document or spreadsheet? Press macro the button and macro again... macro erased. I did have to burn one of the macro keys for the function layer (fn) toggle. There is an oversized Kinesis key in the upper left next to ESC, the perfect location for fn toggle. But strangely enough, fn toggle is the one thing you can't program that key for. You can but it prevents you from programming macros with the macro button. It's a bug in the software they don't care to fix. So I just programmed the big kenesis button as another ESC key and I used the macro 7 key as fn toggle just above the fn key. I also inverted F2 and F3 which I never use with volume up and down. F2 and F3 are then on the function layer if I need them.The palm rests are super comfy and coming from a microsoft ergonomic keyboard the tent kit is a requirement. I'm happy with the middle setting of 10 degrees and I spread the keyboard out until it's comfortable.Last thing, I did "O-ring" both keyboards. I bought these silicone O ringshttps://www.amazon.com/dp/B07HMMGHL4?psc=1&ref=ppx_pop_dt_b_product_detailsand this key pullerhttps://www.amazon.com/dp/B00TAUJDJK?psc=1&ref=ppx_pop_dt_b_product_detailsand it very noticeably reduced the "clackiness" of the keyboards.So it becomes quite the investment of keyboard, tent kit, O ring kit and a little time to install the O rings, getting used to the layout, programming the lights and other layers. But in the end, I think it's worth it.Keyboard, Monitors, and Mouse are your main interfaces to the machine. Make them count.

Absolutely Fantastic! Wow!

Reviewed in the United States on August 17, 2020

"On-the-fly" macro-recording, key-swapping, and multiple profiles are fantastic!This keyboard sets the bar for all other keyboards (and peripherals).Special "off-keyboard" buttons enable profile-switching (windows/mac mode), macro-recording (frequent text, low-security passwords, app-and-o.s.-independent ad-hoc actions), and keyswapping (swap windows-key/alt-key ... swap quote-markers, replace an infrequently used key with something more convenient... remap some awkward "reload/grenade" gaming key with something closer).All of them are: "Macro => Z => 1234 => Macro" (record a Z macro). To remove: "Macro => Z => Macro" (no macro)... Same with remap: "remap/z/x" => remapped. "remap/z/z" (z-to-z => no-remap).Quick guide is printed on back/bottom of the keyboard, so you can recover if you mess something up.Major point is that _all_ of these actions are _trivial_ to perform "in-place" ... it's literally uncomplicated and quick to make a macro or something in any app, for any purpose, and go to town with it.Configuration is stored via onboard USB-style memory (ie: Special+F7 => your USB keyboard is now also a USB-Drive), and `./settings/macros.txt` is inspectable, backable-uppable, transferrible, etc. It really allows an incredible and flexible ease of configuration, customization, etc.Updates are basically `cp update.zip => USB-Keyboard` and reboot it. Wow! I wish all devices (eg: fancy mice) used this same mechanism for configuration inspection and updates....and then on top of it all, it's a mechanical, split, semi-ergonomic keyboard with crazy glowy LED lighting. Wow! The most fun one I've found is like a heatmap of what recent key's you've pressed... "abcdefg => only those keys are lit up, and they slowly fade out." Truly a cool hacker-typer-feeling. Wow!Potential negatives or cautions are: with great power comes great responsibility. Be careful because you can get yourself into a messed-up state that you'll have to scratch your head a bit to recover from (ie: Macro "a" => "bbbb" means it's tricky to type an "a" anymore unless you can figure out which key has the macro and you _might_ lose other macro's that you'd recorded until you can figure out how to inspect / repair / remove them). If you record a macro, it plays back as an unstoppable force... the letters will spew out whether you want them to or not.Overall, even though it's somewhat expensive, it's an incredible value, and incredibly thoughtful device that I'm incredibly happy with after only a few days with it. Definitely going to be bragging about this one and advocating other people to buy it, it's really like a "Keyboard 2.0" and will make you re-think what a keyboard should be!

Great keyboard with non-invasive app

Reviewed in the United States on July 12, 2021

I've been using the non-gamer version of this keyboard for almost 5 years. This keyboard is an upgrade in every way. The app makes it easy to customize and add profiles and there is no login or cloud account required to use all features. App is also not needed at all to program the keyboard. Programming can be done by just editing simple text files on the keyboard storage drive. Brilliant!

Great keyboard

Reviewed in the United States on May 25, 2020

I bought this to replace a Kinesis Freestyle Edge (non-RGB with blue keys) that met an unfortunate accident.I've been using Kinesis split keyboards for years as they are the most comfortable for my wrists and shoulders. Standard keyboards force my arms to angle inward in a way that is not quite natural, and causes some fatigue. Though you mostly get used to the standard keyboard arrangement, it is always so much better to be in control of the angle as you can when your keyboard is split in half.The older Kinesis split keyboards were membrane keyboards, so I had switched to a standard mechanical once mechanicals were available, as I prefer the feeling. Also, I like backlit keys as I tend to keep my office dark to reduce glar.When Kinesis started offering mechanical, backlit, split keyboards, that was excellent as they combine the three main features I look for in a keyboard.This RGB has a bit different layout to the previous Freestyle, so if you are switching there will be some learning as the ESC key is now small and placed next to the F keys instead of being big at the top of the macro keys (though you can reprogram that top large macro key to be ESC if you want, but you'll have to avoid accidentally hitting the real ESC key when you reach for F1). Also 7 is now moved to the other side.Overall, they are very similar. Some points of interest:-when the keyboard is in FN mode, by default, there are no LEDs. This is normal. You can use the configuration utility to assign LEDS (I recommend a different color scheme so you can easily see if your keyboard is in FN mode or normal mode).-the keys themselves have a slightly dusty coating on top for better traction. My previous Freestyle either didn't have that (or maybe it had but wore off over years of use)-this keyboard comes with a wristrest, so you do not need to buy it separately. It is detachable should you not want to use it or use a different one. This wristrest has cushions built in instead of the flat plastic Kinesis ones. They feel nice, though it took a little adjustment as I switched from my old keyboard due to it raising my hands just a little.-You can turn LED backlighting on/off with a toggle switch-The arrow keys are in proper inverted-T layout and have a raised bump on the up arrow for touch placement. This is a small but nice feature; no keyboards I've used before have had the touch bump on these keys.This keyboard is great not just for gaming but for general computer usage and typing when you want something that is easier on your wrists and shoulders, and has mechanical switches for accuracy.

Source: Amazon

Question: Has anyone compared this to the cloud nine c989m? I'm torn between those two, and no one has made a comparison I could find.?

Answer: With a few upgrades that make it my favorite choice, Cloud9 announced a new board almost identical to this one (I just bought mine). One is that, while the c9 has a 7-degree tent that is, in my opinion, great, the tenting adaptor for the Edge has terrible ratings even though without it, you cannot tent. The C9's steering wheel also offers a unique and pleasurable driving experience. If I played many video games, I could see how the volume control function may be beneficial. As it is, I'm using the board to replace the alt-tab at work, and I like it. If the Kinesis had a tenting solution out of the box that didn't claim it repeatedly folded under pressure, I would have purchased it to avoid encouraging Chinese knockoffs because I use a standing workstation and hence put a lot of force on my palm rests. But I don't feel guilty about it. The increased speed and enjoyment of using the c9 authentic immediately won me over. I estimate that I have increased my productivity over using the Surface ergo keyboard by at least 10%.


Question: Is this keyboard available with MX silent red or MX speed silver switches? If not, are the switches user swappable?

Answer: You must desolder the current switches and resolder the new ones to alter the kind of switch that is placed. There are currently no plans to create Silent Reds, but Silvers will be available starting in November.


Question: Does anyone have a case suggestion? I need to carry the keyboard around in a backpack, and I want to protect it.

Answer: I've managed to carry it in a cloth bag inside of a backpack, but I haven't found a case that works better. Ensure the connected wire doesn't twist into any odd places since this might lead to issues.


Latest Products



Amazon Affiliate Disclosure

As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

Some posts may contain affiliate links. https://www.techblogo.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for website owners to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon(.com, .co.uk, .ca etc) and any other website that may be affiliated with Amazon Service LLC Associates Program.