techblogo-logo

Get The Latest Technology Updates

AKRacing California Laguna Gaming Chair

AKRacing California Laguna Gaming Chair Specification:

Color Laguna
Brand AKRacing
Product Dimensions 17.72 x 21.26 x 47.24 inches
Material Polyurethane
Recommended Uses For Product Gaming
Room Type Game Recreation Room
Frame Material Alloy Steel
Age Range (Description) Adult
Unit Count 1 Count
Included Components Manual
Item Weight 60 pounds
Shape Oval
Model Name AKRacing California
Arm Style Adjustable Armrests
Maximum Weight Recommendation 150 Kilograms
Seat Material Type Foam
Manufacturer AKRacing
Item model number AK-CALIFORNIA-LAGUNA
Form Factor Recliner
Assembly Required Yes
Batteries Required? No

Extra Small size: 

Appropriate for users up to 5'6".

Automotive grade upholstery: 

The manufacturer guarantees that your car's seat upholstery will not peel or crack for five years.

100% cold-curved foam padding:

The padding is made entirely of cold-curved foam, which has the perfect density for long periods of sitting (8 hours or more).

Steel frame:

The company's commitment to quality backs the 10-year structural integrity and anti-corrosion paint warranty on the steel frame.

Unique design:

Distinctive style with eye-catching hues and a clean, all-white aesthetic.

 

This model is the newest addition to the AKRacing product line and a genuine lifestyle chair inspired by sunny and colorful California. Those with slim or petite proportions will look and feel great in this. In addition to black, the California gaming chair is available in three more bright colors: napa, Laguna, and Tahoe.

 

Amazon Reviews ()

Good solid 4 stars

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on August 9, 2022

rating rating rating rating rating

I am just under 5'2 and was having back issues because chairs of this type tend to be too large. This is the closest to the correct size chair I have had. I have not had an aching back since I got it. It is not perfect for me, but it is really great. And, a small chair that does not look like crap is REALLY hard to find! I saw someone else say the back pillow was a little large. I agree, if the back of the chair is upright and I am working then my back does not fully touch the back of the chair (not uncomfortable though), but it is a good size if I lean the chair back to game. I also like that I can move it around depending on the angle of the chair back - so it does not tend to hit in the wrong spot. Also, I wish it went down one more inch as my feet just bearly touch the ground, but are not firming on the ground. I would buy it again since small chairs that look nice are super hard to find!

Excellent chair/Came w/ minor ding/Instructions suck/Would still buy again

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on December 21, 2020

rating rating rating rating rating

Pros: We were looking for a gaming/desk chair for our very petite/teeny tiny teen for Christmas. She sits at her desk or swivels to her TV like 90% of her waking hours (for school & play) and was complaining about back & neck pain. It’s been a real challenge to find a chair built for a 4’9” 90lb creature like her. I think she’ll be very happy with this. I just put it together and it seems really sturdy and comfortable.Cons: The *%#@ instructions (entirely visual/no text) are not precise. For example: If you follow the (again, visual) instructions literally, you would remove only ONE of the two bolts on each side of the chair-back (TWO bolts total) & then attach the chair-back to the seat by using only these TWO bolts—in reality, there are TWO bolts on each side of the chair-back (FOUR bolts total) and you have to remove all FOUR of them in order to attach the back to the base. So the immediate impression one’s left with is confusion—but I will note the chair isn’t hard to put together. It’s just the inexact instructions add confusion where none is needed.Another con is that one of the arm rests has a small ding in it—entirely visible—which frankly infuriated me, as I don’t expect cosmetic damage on a $350 chair (that’s a gift) right out of the box. I’m not going to raise a fuss, but my god, it left a sour taste in my mouth. I’m looking at it now and it’s pi$$ing me off.MERRY CHRISTMAS!

Finally a chair that fits!

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on December 18, 2020

rating rating rating rating rating

I'm used to most furniture being big for me—I'm 5'1"—and recently, my back has started to hurt due to sitting in a too large chair for prolonged periods of time.I took a leap and ordered the AKRacing California Gaming Chair, Laguna, based on the AKRacing website's recommendation for my size. It fits me! It seems sturdy and I prefer the white over the other colors.My only complaint would be the size of the lumbar pillow. It is a bit thick—it seems like they took a pillow from a larger chair and just threw it with this one, without regards to the smaller size of the customer using this chair. It will have to be replaced. This is something that should have been considered in the manufacturing and design of the chair (the reason for removing a rating star); it really is a big design flaw.Unfortunately, the AKRacing website had the chair in Laguna sold out, so I came to Amazon to check availability. I received it within 5 days. It is a large box and the instructions are vague; however, overall, it was fairly simple to assemble.

Complete Disaster & Misleading Marketing

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on June 23, 2022

rating rating rating rating rating

When we first got this chair, I loved it. It was the first time I had a chair that was comfortable and easily adjusted to my height. While the padding started going since I bought the chair in February 2021 - I didn't think it was a big deal. Most chairs made in China seem to have SOME issues. I was disappointed with the price of this chair but with how comfortable it was for me, I was willing to have some sacrifices.Since I work from home and am a gamer, I use this chair fairly constantly. While it was a real PITA to put together, it seemed worth it...until today. After work, I sat in the chair and one of the legs shattered. SHATTERED. My husband was luckily there to help get me off the ground and deal with my injuries (which were minor). Though, as you can see, this is a stress fracture in the base. We were concerned about it being plastic but again...we trusted the company.Come to find out - the company was misleading with the chair's weight limit. ON the website, it has a max capacity of 330 lb (which I am nowhere near). Today, we saw for 'maximum comfort' being under 155 lb. Then a comment from the manufacturer in question says the 100 - 155 is the MAX CAPACITY. We never would have purchased the chair if they weren't misleading on their website.Looking online, other people seemed to have the exact same issue and had this same fracture happen just after the 1 year mark. I really wish I bought a warranty on this chair now so I could at least get my money back. Now, I am going to have to pay for it even to be tossed!

Fits me well

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on July 22, 2021

rating rating rating rating rating

FIrst chair I've had that actually fits me (I'm 5'4" and thin). I can get it close enough to the keyboard tray without the arms bumping it, or me having to stretch. The width is comfortable. The cushion doesn't cut into my thighs and cut circulation. I have proper back support. I can also lean my head back and have it supported.I still need a footrest, but even if my chair went lower (as someone else complained it doesn't) my DESK would still be the height it is, and I'd be ergonomically out of sorts from that. I've been using it for about a month now, and have never been sore after long stretches at the computer. I'm very pleased.After seeing complaints about the instructions for assembly, I opted to pay someone else to do it. Besides that way it got done on a schedule, instead of when I got around to it. Didn't take him long - maybe 1/2 hour.

Despite the description, not for petite people

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on June 29, 2021

rating rating rating rating rating

Unfortunately I waited far too long to return this and missed the return window. I also REALLY wanted to love it, but for being advertised for petite people, and reading the reviews of this chair on the actual AKRacing Website, it is extremely misleading. I'm going to agree with another user on here and say this chair doesn't feel any different than their standard adult gaming chairs, meant for someone 5'4'' - 5'6'' and taller. The seat depth is too long and will cut off circulation to your legs at the knee/back of thigh area. I read a few reviews that this is great for someone who is 4'11" (some grandmother who bought their 4'11'' granddaughter this chair), and those people must have horse-riding legs because I can't reach the floor on the lowest setting. I still haven't found a good foot rest to counter that, and for a $400 gaming chair you'd think it'd be built into it.The leather is very plush and comfortable and though I was terrified of the white leather becoming dirty, it's actually held up quite nicely (I HAVE been good about wiping spills immediately though). Again this is a great chair if you're over 5'6'' and have average leg length for that height. Not for petite/shorter people at all.The arm rest settings seem useless as they pivot maybe about two inches in either direction, but will always be in the way unlike most chairs who have arms that can move more out of the way.As for assembly, it took me about 40 minutes, but I was just afraid of staining/marking the white leather. The arm rests might be the most complicated thing to put on the chair, but it took roughly 20 minutes for that.I am also feeling pretty bitter that this chair is marketed towards "petite" people. Maybe they mean skinnier people with giraffe legs, I don't know. Fellow shorties, the search for the perfect gaming/office chair continues :/

LOVE IT!

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on March 22, 2021

rating rating rating rating rating

I am a small guy, and for decades I have struggled with desk chairs that simply don’t fit. I was constantly moving around trying to get comfortable. This is the first chair I sat in and it hugged me- I can sit back and my knees comfortably fall over the seat edge. It’s adjustable in all the right places. I cannot believe I waited so long to buy this chair.If you’re a small person- I recommend this chair-I only wish it came it other colors- black would have been nice. (A white chair seems like a nightmare waiting to happen. I bought a car seat cover for it- hope it works.)

What happened to this company

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on August 4, 2022

rating rating rating rating rating

Last year I bought This exact chair and I feel like the company rights were sold to someone just trying to make a quick buck. This cost over 400$ and the stiching on the leather seat is completely off, I can't belive this got past qc if they even have that department at this "company" picture below.

Follow assembly instructions 😊

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on September 25, 2020

rating rating rating rating rating

There's a rocking motion on my newly purchased chair. Traced the source and rod that gets inserted into chair has alot of internal play. I own another Akracing chair and does not do this. Whats the remedy?Correction. I had the assembly facing in the wrong direction. Adjusted it and chair is solid. Please disregard. I updated my review.

Do not buy if you're short. A huge disappointment.

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on April 11, 2021

rating rating rating rating rating

I bought this chair because it was listed for short users, and all I can say is don't waste your time and money. Assembly took an hour and a half - the directions are sparse, as other buyers have indicated. The big issue is that the seat actually goes no lower than a standard office chair. I measured once it was put together, and at the lowest setting the seat height at the top of the cushion is still ~18". The seat depth is also ~18". These measurements are not in line with the recommended ergonomic standards for people under 5'4" - the average height of an American woman. I am 5"1" and the cushion hits the backs of my knees, which will cut off circulation during the course of an average office day. When the casters are on, my feet dangle a good 2" off the floor.So for all the other petite users who were fooled by the listings on blogs (probably paid partnerships) learn from my mistake and don't waste your time and money. Buy a cheaper chair that has the same dimensions, and take the casters off. And shame on AKRacing for misrepresenting it's product and continuing the standard of sexism in product design.

Source: Amazon

Question: What is the minimum height adjustment?

Answer: There is a depth of 13.75" to the gas lift.


Question: The back of my chair is rocking. It almost seems loose. Has anyone else had this problem?

Answer: No one has ever brought this up before. Therefore we don't know if it exists or not. It may be necessary to adjust the side screws if the back appears to be sagging.


Question: Can the arms be removed?

Answer: The arms can be removed without damaging the seat, so the answer is yes.


Latest Products



Amazon Affiliate Disclosure

As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

Some posts may contain affiliate links. https://www.techblogo.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for website owners to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon(.com, .co.uk, .ca etc) and any other website that may be affiliated with Amazon Service LLC Associates Program.