techblogo-logo

Get The Latest Technology Updates

Acer Chromebook Spin 311 Convertible Laptop

Operating System:

Chrome OS is the operating system that powers Chromebooks; Google developed it to meet the needs of modern life. It has built-in anti-virus protection, self-updates, lightning-fast boot time, and maintains its speed over time. The need for an active Internet connection is implied.

Microsoft Office:

Every Chromebook comes preloaded with the full suite of Google apps so that you can use Google Docs, Sheets, and Slides to open, edit, and convert files created in Microsoft Office.

Google play store:

Get more out of your Android device with the over 2 million apps on Google Play. All of your information will be automatically backed up to Google Drive. In addition to the built-in storage on your Chromebook, you get 100GB of capacity to store whatever else you need.

Display:

The 11.6-inch HD Touch IPS Display, Intel Celeron N4020 processor, 4GB of LPDDR4 memory, 32GB of eMMC storage, Google Chrome, and up to 10 hours of battery life are all standard on the Acer CP311-2H-C679 Chromebook's convertible configuration.

 

Specification:

Standing screen display size ‎11.6 Inches
Max Screen Resolution ‎1366 x 768 Pixels
Processor ‎2.8 GHz celeron
RAM ‎4 GB LPDDR4
Memory Speed ‎2.8 GHz
Hard Drive ‎32 GB embedded multimediacard
Graphics Coprocessor ‎Mediatek
Chipset Brand ‎Intel
Card Description ‎Integrated
Wireless Type ‎Bluetooth
Number of USB 3.0 Ports ‎2
Average Battery Life (in hours) ‎10 Hours
National Stock Number ‎NX.HKKAA.005
Brand ‎Acer
Series ‎CP311-2H-C679
Item model number ‎CP311-2H-C679
Hardware Platform ‎PC
Operating System ‎Chrome OS
Item Weight ‎0.01 ounces
Product Dimensions ‎11.65 x 8.11 x 0.79 inches
Item Dimensions LxWxH ‎11.65 x 8.11 x 0.79 inches
Color ‎Black
Processor Brand ‎Intel
Processor Count ‎2
Computer Memory Type ‎DDR4 SDRAM
Flash Memory Size ‎32
Hard Drive Interface ‎Solid State
Optical Drive Type ‎No Optical Drive
Power Source ‎Battery Powered
Batteries ‎1 Lithium Ion batteries required. (included)
Pros Cons
  • 2-in-1 versatility on the cheap.
  • Responsive keyboard and touchpad.
  • Both USB Type-A and USB Type-C ports.
  • Small, low-resolution display with thick bezels.
  • Meagre 32GB of internal storage.
  • short battery life.

These high-level specifications are included with the Acer Chromebook Spin 311 CP311-2H-C679:

  • 11.6-inch high-definition (HD) 1366 x 768 resolution.

  • High-brightness.

  • LED-backlit IPS (In-Plane Switching) technology with antimicrobial Corning Gorilla Glass multi-touch.

  • Supporting finger touch and image auto-rotation Intel Celeron N4020 Dual-Core Processor 1.1 GHz with Intel Burst Technology up to 2.8 GHz Google Chrome Operating System High-brightness.

  • LED-backlit IPS (In-Plane Switching (16:9 aspect ratio), HD Webcam (1280 x 720) with 88-degree wide-angle lens supporting High Dynamic Range (HDR), Bluetooth 5.0, Intel UHD Graphics 600, 4GB On-Board LPDDR4 Memory, 32GB eMMC, Intel Wireless-AC 9560 802.11ac Gigabit Wi-Fi 5 that can deliver up to 1.73Gbps throughput when using 160Mhz channels (Dual-Band 2.4GHz and 5GHz), Intel Wireless-AC 9560 USB 3.1 Gen 1 with a transfer rate of up to 5 Gbps, DisplayPort via USB Type-C, USB Charging and DC-in connectors, a Lithium-Ion battery, and two USB 3.1 Gen 1 ports.

  • Battery Life of up to 10 Hours, Weight of 2.62 lbs. | 1.19 kg (single system unit) (NX.HKKAA.005).

 

Amazon Reviews ()

Niftay

Reviewed in the United States on June 30, 2020

I wasn't fully sure what to expect, I've never had a chromebook but really needed something that I could take with me on the go to work on my shop updates, work stuff, and school when that starts up. It's taking some getting used to but I'm loving it so far! Battery life is as expected, I left it on overnight and I still had a full battery the next morning. Touchscreen is responsive. Shipping was STUPID FAST, ordered it Saturday night and received it Monday out here butt-shuck nowhere, Wyoming. So, ya know, impressive. Definitely like a tablet with a keyboard, but it's so much better than any tablet I've used. I have a fire kindle (same thing as a tablet imo. One of those gifts you get and you're like "ohhhhhhhh, thaaaaankkkkksssss....I'ma never use this. But thank you." Obviously you never tell them that because that would be rude, so instead it sits in the bookcase with your hard copies collecting dust because you don't want to get rid of it and have them find out.) and -anyway- this thing blows it out of the park. Feels lightweight but sturdy at the same time, it's no little biiiish, it feels like it can hold it's own.

One of my better decisions

Reviewed in the United States on July 2, 2020

I'm 72 and have been agonizing replacing my aging Asus laptop. Back and forth between a Chromebook or a laptop. Read reviews on the differences, threw a dart, and ordered this Chromebook. What a great decision. Opened it up, plugged it in and turned it on. Then answered a few questions and it synched with my Note8. I like to cook and can hardly wait to look up a recipe, tent it, and start creating. I have very simple computer needs, email, banking, and, looking up recipes. For me this is a 5.

Perfect for distance learning

Reviewed in the United States on June 27, 2020

Got this for elementary school children. I've never owned a chromebook so didn't know what to expect, but so far it has impressed me. Easy to setup with a google account. Also like how you can apply parental controls using google family. As far as the device itself-- love the touchscreen. My kids don't really use the flipped mode but i like that it is an option. Very happy with my purchase. Also, I didn't buy the extended protection but am now thinking I will.

Great ChromeOS 2-in-1

Reviewed in the United States on July 9, 2020

Much faster and of course newer than my old Acer 15" Chromebook, which was one of the first 15" models they made and the only 15" Chromebook on the market when I bought it. I got this because I wanted something good for couch surfing and my old Chromebook doesn't support Android apps so it was starting to feel very limited in use. I decided on this model after reading a lot of positive reviews, which mainly turned out to be for the last model that uses this devices same name.I'll start off by saying this thing feels really sturdy, built well in typical Acer fashion. But I'm kind of surprised with how big the bezels are, they easily could've put a bigger screen in the thing. The screen that is installed though is plenty bright enough for my use, and is perfectly sharp at a typical viewing distance with good viewing angles. The touchscreen is kind of flaky in my experience, but that could be a problem with the user since some touchscreens just don't like responding well to my fingers. Performance in typical use is perfectly fine, but don't expect to do much gaming as it doesn't have the power to run more intense Android games smoothly. WiFi is very fast and signal is excellent. The ports provided are great, and I love that it can be charged from either USB-C port. The keyboard feels pretty good and the trackpad is about what you'd expect on a device like this.Now where I am truly disappointed is in the fact that stylus support was removed from the last model of this system. I'm a bit of an artist and like to draw on occasion, even if it's just playing a round of Draw Something to fix my itch. I thought drawing on this with an Android app would be pretty nice compared to my Note phone. And another person had already asked if this system supported an active stylus, which Acer responded by saying yes. This thing absolutely does NOT support an active stylus. At least not an EMR one like you find in Samsung devices (S-Pen) or a Wacom stylus. I'm tempted to send this model back and order the older one since there doesn't seem to be much difference between the N3350 and N4020 CPUs.I'll also mention here that the indent for the second camera that goes above the keyboard for use in tablet mode is present, but there isn't a camera. I was unsure what this indent was for until I did some more reading online and found a review for a pre-release version of this system. That included the camera and stylus. Seems they changed their minds on both features but didn't bother to get rid of the indent.Long story short, it's a good little 2-in-1 but some design choices are odd for a device in 2020. Also many of the reviews out there are for the last model (N3350 CPU) or for pre-production test units that have features this thing actually doesn't have (stylus and second camera). Also look at the true reviews closely as this thing is offered with the Intel CPU (N4020), and AMD CPU, and a MediaTek CPU.

Easy setup

Reviewed in the United States on June 28, 2020

It’s beautiful and everything was easy! So happy.

Really Good!

Reviewed in the United States on June 25, 2020

I ordered it for my daughter for her to take online classes from camp and school. We are very happy with this chromebook. it is also touch screen and can be folded like a book so easier for her to use when reading books. We are able to install all needed apps to complete her work.

solid price, good battery life

Reviewed in the United States on June 26, 2020

bought at $249.00 Respectable specs for price given current demand. Getting 8+ hours of battery life surfing web and watching YouTube. If you cant tell from pics. micro SD slot reader for media and volume rocker on side. your play store app compatibly will vary. please note that only about 20 GB of that storage is available for apps. if you are new to Chromebooks (or computers in general) this is more of a tablet+ than a full laptop replacement

Fantastic Laptop!

Reviewed in the United States on June 23, 2020

This laptop is so great! It meets my needs and more! And you can't beat the price for the neat perks it offers! I especially love that it's convertible AND touchscreen! Highly recommend!

Fabulous simplified laptop

Reviewed in the United States on July 25, 2020

This is my 2nd Chromebook and I lobe it. My 1st one still works after 5 years, but I use that one at work a lot. If you are looking for a laptop but don't need a lot of software, this is the kid for you. It boots up and shuts down quickly and is very fast all around. The camera works well too. Love it!

Breaks easily

Reviewed in the United States on November 16, 2020

I had 2 of these units, the first just stopped working - would not turn on would not show any signs of charging or power at all after using for about 2 weeks.Amazon quickly and easily replaced the product. (5 stars for that!)The second unit after 2 weeks a key popped off the keyboard and could not be replaced. Contacted Acer and they wanted me to send unit in for repair, could not just send me a replacement key or attachment piece.Ultimately asked amazon to refund me for this machine and I will be sending it back.Not impressed Acer.

Source: Amazon

Question: Does this laptop have an HDMI port?

Answer: You may add an HDMI jack to this laptop. All you need is a USB-C hub with an HDMI (TV video/audio) socket (made for Chromebooks), a USB-C power source (I used the one that came with my Chromebook), and one of the laptop's 2 USB-C ports. Once you do this, the Chromebook will auto-detect the USB-C hub and auto-configure the HDMI port. You may also buy USB-C hubs with a wired internet jack (which this Chromebook will use if that feature is available on the hub you buy). I recently bought a $35 USB-C hub with an HDMI jack, an ethernet jack, three conventional USB 3 ports, and a spot to plug in the hub's USB-C charger (and also optionally charge the Chromebook from this connection). As a result, my Chromebook has audio/video via my office TV (and the hub's HDMI jack), wired internet (via the hub's ethernet jack, which is MUCH faster than the Chromebook's built-in wifi), an external USB keyboard/mouse (via USB 3 ports on the hub), extra storage (via a USB flash drive, also plugged into a USB 3 port on this hub), and charging power via the hub (so I don't need to use the Yes, this isn't free, but it's a cheap and quick method to expand this Chromebooks input/output.


Question: Does it support any active stylus, and if so, what type/model?

Answer: A stylus cannot be used on this device. Unfortunately, neither my many Samsung S-Pens nor my Wacom stylus seems to be functioning. When I got it today, I tried it out and looked online to see if there was any documentation, and sure enough, there was a pdf stating that stylus support was an extra purchase for this model. It's a significant letdown, considering that was one of the selling points for me. The previous model (N3350 CPU) is compatible with a stylus, but the newer model is not. The indentation for a second camera above the keyboard for usage in "back camera" mode, while the device is in tablet mode, is also absent.


Question: Will my son be able to play Minecraft on this?

Answer: Unfortunately, this Chromebook does not support downloading apps from the Google Play Store. Thus you will have to use another device if you want to use the Minecraft app. Some people report success with alternatives like installing Minecraft on Linux or utilizing an APK file to access the game.


Latest Products



Amazon Affiliate Disclosure

As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

Some posts may contain affiliate links. https://www.techblogo.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for website owners to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon(.com, .co.uk, .ca etc) and any other website that may be affiliated with Amazon Service LLC Associates Program.